Close

DWI sobriety test

Laredo PD prepares for upcoming 4th oF July Holidays with Impaired Driver Mobilization

The Laredo Police Department will be working an Impaired Driver Mobilization grant that has been provided by the Texas Department of Transportation in which police officers will be working overtime in enforcing DWI laws by locating and identifying intoxicated drivers.

Law enforcement throughout Texas, including the Laredo Police Department, is participating in the push to deter drunk driving. From June 26 to July 7, 2015, state and local law enforcement agencies will be working overtime to enforce the state’s DWI laws.
In Texas, the legal limit for intoxication is .08 BAC. If an officer thinks your driving is impaired, you can still be stopped and arrested for DWI regardless of your BAC. Penalties get worse with every DWI offense.
First conviction
$2,000 maximum fine
Up to six months behind bars
Suspended driver’s license for up to a year
$1,000 every year for three years to keep your driver’s license

Second conviction
$4,000 maximum fine
Up to one year in jail
Suspended driver’s license for up to two years
$1,500 every year for three years to keep your driver’s license

Third conviction
$10,000 maximum fine
Two to ten years in prison
Suspended driver’s license for up to two years
$2,000 every year for three years to keep your driver’s license

Back to Top